Peanut’s Playground: Forgotten Classics – 2. Judgment Night OST

Photography by vampire-zombie

I’m on a roll here on TSURURADIO! Or as Ol’ Tsuru would say: “Peanut’s on fyarrrr!”

All right. Now that we’ve established that I’ve actually had somewhat of a series of posts for the first time in quite a while, what’s next? I’ll tell you what’s next! The second installment in Peanut’s Playground: Forgotten Classics that is!

And in typical fashion it’s a truly uninspired choice as well. People, please direct your attention to:

Judgment Night OST (1993)

Whaaaaat? A soundtrack? From 17 years ago? Are you nuts!? And it’s filled with music that’s never been featured on TSURURADIO before?? Peanut seriously. What. Were. You. Thinking…

And I haven’t even mentioned that the movie this soundtrack belongs to sucks balls. And I mean big-time Chuck Norris sized balls here! I actually saw it in the cinema with some girl, and all that remains from that night is a memory of her performing CPR on me during the halftime break. Man, that movie sucked!

So imagine my surprise when the soundtrack that went with it was actually quite good. To say the least. Besides the fact that this album was the first truly accomplished collection of (rock+hip/hop) crossover songs, it was also a excellent album. Even though each and every song is written and performed by different artists, as a whole they work really well together.

Most, if not every song is a classic in the genre (which is all but dead at the moment) but a few tracks stand out. My personal faves are Helmet and House of Pain’s Just Another Victim and Disorder by Slayer and Ice-T. The former because I think it’s the best example of classic crossover ever made. Ultra dry (Terry Date-style) guitar riffing and a hiphop act who were in their prime (Jump Around anyone?). And the latter because hey, it’s fuqqin SLAYER AND ICE-T!! Nuff said. No really. That’s nuff said!

I’ve said this too many times already these past weeks, but this album might not be your cup of tea either. Well BOO HAA to you! Try it anyway. You won’t regret it. Trust me on this one. Hell, trust me on every album I ramble about! Now go and listen. Shoo!


1. Helmet and House of Pain – Just Another Victim

2. Teenage Fanclub and De La Soul – Fallin’

3. Living Colour and Run DMC – Me, Myself & My Microphone

4. Biohazard and Onyx – Judgment Night

5. Slayer and Ice-T – Disorder

6.Faith No More and Boo Yaa Tribe – Another Body Murdered

7. Sonic Youth and Cypress Hill – I Love You Mary Jane

8. Mudhoney and Sir Mix-A-Lot – Freak Momma

9. Dinosaur Jr. and Del The Funky Homosapien – Missing Link

10. Therapy? and Fatal – Come And Die

11. Pearl Jam and Cypress Hill – Real Thing

Don’t forget to check out my other articles, in case you’ve missed them (which would be an absolute shame, because they’re great and all that…)!



Link up with me here: Twitter Blog RSS

2 comments for “Peanut’s Playground: Forgotten Classics – 2. Judgment Night OST

  1. September 8, 2010 at 2:17 PM

    This stuff is so wicked! I used to play it on my room on and on till my parents went crazy. Love it! Specially the Slayer/Ice T and Helmet/house of pain songs.
    Keep it up peanut, great choices!!!!

  2. September 8, 2010 at 2:44 PM

    I could have guessed!Thanx Detectief!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *