Peanut’s Playground: Good things ahead and a (London) Suede mixtape to go with it!

In my part of the world The London Suede are simply called Suede. They have been since 1993 and that’s still the case in 2010. Which happens to be a good thing, since that meant that the Suede who will be coming over to Amsterdam in December are the same band I learned to love during the mid 90’s.

Dropping onto the scene like a bomb in 1993 with their self-titled instant classic debut and their fantastic single The Drowners a year before, this is the band that started the whole Britpop craze that ravaged the musical landscape during the 90’s. Britpop gave birth to  some particularly fine bands (Blur, Supergrass, Stone Roses etc.), but to this day Suede still seems to be the best example of the genre.

After their musical highlights (Suede and Dog Man Star) the band reached their commercial peak with Coming Up in 1997. The band’s 1999′ release Head Music was further proof of their musical decline. Something that continued with their last album A New Morning from 2002. Both albums feature some great songs, but overall they are no match for their ealier productions.

My personal favorite is a compilation double album released in 1997 called Sci_fi Lullabies. All the songs on the album are B-sides and cuts that didn’t make an album. But most of these tracks, particularly on disc 1, are just as good (or even better) than the A-sides.

I’ve compiled a  mix of songs from all the band’s albums for you. It’s a good place to start if you’re still unfamiliar with one of the best ánd most essential bands of the 90’s.

Suede Mixtape (Full Zip)

01. My Insatiable One from Sci-Fi Lullabies (1997)

02. Animal Lover from Suede (1993)

03. She’s In Fashion from Head Music (1999)

04. Have You Ever Been This Low from Sci-Fi Lullabies (1997)

05. Together from Sci-Fi Lullabies (1997)

06. Positivity from A New Morning (2002)

07. Lost in TV from A New Morning (2002)

08. The Drowners from Suede (1993)

09. To The Birds from Sci-Fi Lullabies (1997)

10. Everything Will Flow from Head Music (1999)

11. We Are the Pigs from Dog Man Star (1994)

12. Trash from Coming Up (1997)

13. The Chemistry Between Us from Coming Up (1997)

14. The Hollywood Life from Dog Man Star (1994)

Also check out the band’s official website to see if they’re in your neighbourhood sometime soon.



Link up with me here: Twitter Blog RSS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *