I Told You I Was Freaky by Flight Of The Conchords: That hurts our feelings…

Photography by John St. Otherfang

Hi all! Hope you had a nice labour day weekend and to all of you outside the states, were able to take a 3 day weekend, at the very least, in your mind! We did…. took complete advantage of it to get stuff done & spend lots of time together, a perfect 1-2 punch for a long weekend.

*happy sigh*

But alas… it’s time to get back to the real world, the “grind”, if you will, to MTFU and “grow a set” and generally get a move on. And with that “move on” so sees the end of our latest photo contest. Yep, it’s done and we got lots of great entries, but a short week means a busy week, so I’m going to have to keep you in suspense for a couple days, but be sure to tune in on Friday when, before we head out to Chicago for the weekend for the Renegade Craft Fair featuring TsuruBride, I will present the winners, along with (if the good lard’s a-willin’) our latest mixtape!


Haha! Thought you’d like that!

But until then we have now and now we have what we got then (on Friday) and that’s the new Flight Of The Conchords, I Told You I Was Freaky!

I’ll tell ya…. it ain’t easy being a two man novelty band. As quickly as you rise, you can fall. How do you follow up your HBO season one and consequent album? No clue, but fortunately Flight Of The Conchords decided to give it a go. Now, I haven’t seen the new season on HBO (we don’t have HBO and have no plans to get it, or any of them fancy channels, thank you, a friend of ours forced us to watch the first season they had DVRed and we promptly fell in love and ordered the DVDs when they came out), so for me I’m getting the album and all the songs are completely out the context of whatever storyline might be going on – outside of what little story I got from the youtube videos… Meaning, the “novelty” component of the two-man novelty band is turned up to 11, leaving me with a collection of funny songs and, well, that’s it.

So, all you folks who have spent the past few months or whatever watching and debating whether or not the new season is better or worse or whatever may have a completely different view of this album. BUT, from my point-of-view, I just got 13 funny-ass songs from my favourite New Zealanders (sorry Peter Jackson)…

The album is front loaded with the R&B/Hip-Hop/Dance style, which includes one of the sweets boogie-melody I’ve heard in a long time “Hurt Feelings”, but overall the album plays like a weird mixtape of genres, always expertly exploited as the comedic vehicles they need to be.

I don’t know, it’s comedy, so either you like it or you don’t, or you could just be sick of them or just now discovering them or never liked them in the first place. Me? I found it fun, light, and generally had me smiling no matter how shitty a mood I may be in (and today, it’s been kinda shitty)….

Speaking of…. it’s a busy one, need to get back to it. Here’s the first few tracks, then go buy the rest and have a freaky good time! Enjoy!

1. “Hurt Feelings”
2. “Sugalumps”
3. “We’re Both in Love with a Sexy Lady”
4. “I Told You I Was Freaky”
5. “Demon Woman”
6. “Rambling Through the Avenues of Time”
7. “Fashion Is Danger”
8. “Petrov, Yelyena and Me”
9. “Too Many Dicks (On the Dance Floor)”
10. “You Don’t Have to Be a Prostitute”
11. “Friends”
12. “Carol Brown”
13. “Angels”

Some FOTC Link Love…
Myspace | Official | Label

Buy it at Insound!

Tsuru And The Bride | Etsy | Society | Facebook | Twitter

1 comment for “I Told You I Was Freaky by Flight Of The Conchords: That hurts our feelings…

  1. Blueberry Shoes
    September 9, 2009 at 6:22 PM

    beaaaaaaaautiful. best show on earth ever.

    phils gonna love these.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *