TSURURADIO Presents… Live At Jittery Joe’s on Vinyl!!!

Photography by apoplexia

Okay, the weather has broke, we are back up to a balmy mid-20’s Fahrenheit, the sun is shining, the snow is, well, just sitting there, but regardless, my spirit is renewed, my determination resolved and it’s time to finish off a little trilogy we’ve been working on since we first started doing vinyl rips!!! That’s right, my dear readers, today, on this beautiful Sunday, we present to you, Neutral Milk Hotel’s Live At Jittery Joe’s on on luscious black vinyl.

I don’t have much to add all the jibber-jabber that has already been written about the “deity of indie” and his holy canons of music. People have devoted much more time & energy into knowing everything there is to know about Neutral Milk Hotel than I’m willing to do, mostly because as much as I like to keep one foot in the past, I like to keep my head in the present.

But I will say this…. I do believe, when Mangum put his guitar down at the end In The Aeroplane Over The Sea, and, for the most part (but not completely), called it quits, we lost a pretty special & unique singer-songwriter. But how do you follow up In The Aeroplane Over The Sea? Easy…. Just do what feels right and be damned who continues to listen.

The whole NMH thing is an amazing study in cult followings, I mean, think about it…. what would’ve happened if Rivers Cuomo hung it up after Pinkerton, or Gordon Gano after Hallowed Ground? Would there be groups of people writing about sightings? Discussing crappy sounding demo tapes that have escaped vaults? Of vice versa, what if Mangum kept going, would we be sitting here today listening to his 2009 leak and saying, “psh…. return to form, my ass, I mean, it’s okay, but it’s no ITAOTS“? Probably.

Side thought, can you imagine if the above was true, can you imagine then, in response, Mangum hiring Rick Rubin to help him re-find his sound??? Ha!

Alternate universes aside, we have what we have, we may gain more in some future point but that’s my worry or concern. For now, and for me, my vinyl trilogy is complete: In The Aeroplane Over The Sea, On Avery Island, and now…

TSURURADIO Presents… Live At Jittery Joe’s on Vinyl!!!

Side A

1. “Introduction”
2. “A Baby for Pree/Glow into You”
3. “Two Headed Boy”
4. “I Will Bury You in Time”
5. “Gardenhead”
6. “Two Headed Boy Pt. Two”
7. “I Love How You Love Me”

Side B

1. “Engine”
2. “Naomi”
3. “Jesus Christ (Later renamed “King Of Carrot Flowers Pt. II)
4. “Up and Over” (Later renamed “King Of Carrot Flowers Pt. III)
5. “Oh Comely”

Go show Jeff some love here, here, and here. Also, recorded another record this morning, hope to get that up soon, and there’s a fresh mixtape coming your way!!! WOOT! Stay warm and have a beautiful sunday…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *