TSURURADIO Presents… King & Queen on Vinyl!!!

Photography by Us

Good morning, happy Saturday! Very, very excited to share today’s special vinyl rip with you. One of the best soul albums, and probably THE best duets album ever, 1967’s King & Queen by Otis Redding & Carla Thomas! My copy? A 2001 180-gram reissue, and it sounds amazing. Beautiful rich bass & drums, brassy & glorious horn section, and sweet & fluid guitar work by Booker T & the MGs, but the real stars, the shine, the double-cherry topping on this Soul Sundae is the pairing of Otis & Carla.

Mostly covers (though they way they present them, they hardly sound like covers, they OWN these songs, claim them) their chemistry is perfect. Are they lovers? Were they lovers? Or are they just damn good actors? It doesn’t matter, as each song wraps around you, telling a story or painting an image in your mind. You can see Carla making fun of Otis on “Tramp”, making amends on “New Year’s Resolution”, trying to reconcile a broken relationship on “Are You Lonely For Me” or falling back into each others arms in “Bring It On Home To Me” (quite possibly one of our favourite songs ever, I always get goose-bumps when Otis interrupts with “Oooh oh!” and they both sing, “bring it to me… bring your sweet lovin… bring it on home to me!”… fuck yeah)! Otis oozes his heart & soul (as always, will there ever be someone who brings the emotion with every lyric like Otis?) and Carla plays perfect counter-balance, her beautiful voice, smooths it out. Man… just perfect.

I’m so happy that we stumbled on this record while down in a St. Pete record store while meandering around in Florida during the Thanksgiving Day weekend (while the rest of the states seemed to be busy trampling poor store employees to save a few bucks). And, on a personal note, I’m quite thankful to be able to rip this for THIS weekend, baby’s birthday weekend. You know, as we drive around today doing stuff, we’ll be singing our throats out to this.

I know this album isn’t part of the holy canon of Otis, but it should be part of your collection. To dismiss it as just a Stax response to Motown’s duet success with a couple gems would be a huge mistake. So, whatchawaitinfer? Grab, load, and enjoy as…

TSURURADIO Proudly Presents… King & Queen on Vinyl!!!
(Full Zip)

Side one

1. “Knock on Wood”
2. “Let Me Be Good to You”
3. “Tramp”
4. “Tell It Like It Is”
5. “When Something Is Wrong with My Baby”
6. “Lovey Dovey”

Side two

1. “New Year’s Resolution”
2. “It Takes Two”
3. “Are You Lonely for Me, Baby?”
4. “Bring It On Home to Me”
5. “Ooh Carla, Ooh Otis”

I left the sound of the record player picking up the needle at the end, thought it’d be fun… Anywho, great stuff, eh? So go get this for yourself and enjoy it’s brilliance in 12″ vinyl glory here, here, or anywhere you can find it, now! Have a great weekend…

2 comments for “TSURURADIO Presents… King & Queen on Vinyl!!!

  1. Anonymous
    December 10, 2008 at 7:35 PM

    Really great post! Thank you kindly – I am off to look for this.

  2. Anonymous
    December 21, 2008 at 4:59 AM

    i love you for this.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *