TSURURADIO Presents… Peter Gabriel aka Peter Gabriel’s 4th Eponymously Titled Album aka Security aka Scary Distorted Blue Demon Face on Vinyl!!!

Photography by Antonio

Yay! More $1 vinyl!!! And man, another masterpiece…. who the hell’s dumping these used gems (no matter how raggy the album cover’s getting) back into circulation? Oh well, their lost, or more likely, there $0.50 is my gain! Today we feature one of my favorite artists from way back, my whack-a-doodle man Peter Gabriel and his 4th solo album, called many things to many people, but most commonly known as Security.

I think Ground & Sky at progreviews.com (where I got that whole “Scary Distorted Blue Demon Face” title from) said it best, “Gabriel was truly taking his music increasingly off the beaten track. While Security may sound quaintly proto-world-pop-crossover by today’s standards, most pop artists in 1982 weren’t importing drummers from Ghana to help convey images of Carl Jung pulling a Lord of the Flies somewhere in the African desert. Though I think Sting was trying to impress us by writing lyrics in French…”


This is definitely his darkest release, incorporating unsettling themes with polyrhythms and nary a cymbal in site! I was a big fan of all his solo works, especially #3 (Melty Face, as I called it) as it had “Games Without Frontiers” (introducing me to Kate Bush) and, of course, “Biko” but that was a little later on in my life, it was when I was about 9 or 10 when I first saw “Shock The Monkey” on MTV. I was fascinated. A couple years later, I was still belting out my best falsetto singing “SHO-OCK Da Mun-keh!” in my room…

Ah memories… I’ll tell ya, for $1 vinyl, it sounds great! Yeah, there’s plenty of snap, crackle, and pop, and the very beginning has about 4 pops that were probably almost a skip, but they go away quickly and let you settle in proper into “Rhythm Of The Heat”. Man, relistening now, such an amazing album. Just be warned… don’t listen on head phones in the dark, Ooooooo! lol. Anyway, enjoy as…

TSURURADIO Presents… Peter Gabriel aka Security on Vinyl!!!
(Full Zip)

Side One

1 Rhythm Of The Heat
2 San Jacinto
3 I Have The Touch
4 The Family And The Fishing Net

Side Two

1 Shock The Monkey
2 Lay Your Hands On Me
3 Wallflower
4 Kiss Of Life

So much more vinyl (and non-vinyl) down in the society…

Go show Mr. Gabriel all your love here, here, and here now!

7 comments for “TSURURADIO Presents… Peter Gabriel aka Peter Gabriel’s 4th Eponymously Titled Album aka Security aka Scary Distorted Blue Demon Face on Vinyl!!!

  1. piers
    July 15, 2008 at 11:56 AM

    don’t know if you read your comments, but hey, if you do, I am astounded by how accurately you nail “records that I have packed away in a box somewhere from back in the day”, and I am grateful. Security is a fantatic album, but particularly taken in the context of Plays Live and the Birdy soundtrack, which came along at about the same time. And yeah, Kate Bush… wow. somewhere, in one of those boxes is “The Kick Inside” – just saying…

  2. Tsuru
    July 15, 2008 at 2:28 PM

    I definitely read the comments, I get a little email when it happens, eventhough we spend most of the time talking about albums down in the society ;) http://vinylsociety.tsururadio.com

    I’m really glad you enjoyed this! Loved the early peter gabriel. Biko in particular… I have too many memories obsessing over that song, playing that record over and over.

    I think I’m looong over due to reexplore more old gabriel. Security for $1? Nuts! I had to purchase it and share.

  3. piers
    July 15, 2008 at 3:07 PM

    yeah, agreed, I think the sweet spot for me was the “In Your Eyes” 12″, with the special mix of In Your Eyes and backed with live Biko… all that and Pete Saville graphic design… and don’t get me started on the obsessive search for german language releases of those early albums. So okay, guess I should join the society, then. cheers!

  4. Tsuru
    July 15, 2008 at 4:47 PM

    wait, what??? german language versions?? oh man, that’d be nuts!

  5. Paul
    July 22, 2008 at 1:30 PM

    The german language albums are of pg3 and pg4, titled “ein deutches album” and “deutches album.” The backing tracks are exactly the same as on the English versions.

  6. Tsuru
    July 22, 2008 at 4:37 PM

    I had no idea! that’s crazy…. I’d love to hear that.

  7. piers
    July 22, 2008 at 5:19 PM

    “melt” is pretty easy to find in the german version, much harder for “security” – though I have a vinyl copy in a box in someone’s basement somewhere – and the german version of “here comes the flood” is incredible, right up there with the version from robert fripp’s “network” album.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *