Presents… Loney, Noir on Vinyl!

Photography by Keith Carter

Today marks the first, in what will hopefully be a repeat feature on TSURURADIO, full album Vinyl Rip! Our guinea pig for the first experiment is one of the best albums of this year (if you go by the US release date alone) Loney, dear’s Loney Noir.

Emil Svanängen’s falsetto intertwined with his dark-shaded, yet upbeat, pop along with lyrics that drip of sincerity are in perfect balance and make this album a great choice for our first vinyl rip. Well that and that it was the album I received as a present with the record player (thanks baby!)…

I wanted to do something a little different though. Something I think others who may be doing vinyl rips are n’t doing. I didn’t edit the recording to remove the needle being placed down, or lifted up, nor did I removed any of the warm snap, crackle, and/or pop. The slow fade intro of “Sinister In A State Of Hope” is first superseded by the sound of the needle being put down, then has to wage a little battle for speaker space with the initial vinyl noise until the song truly gets to full volume.


I really want to recreate the vinyl experience on mp3. If you are going to do vinyl, all these “extras” are part of the experience. I wanted to be able to push play on my iPod while out and about, but still feel like I was at home putting on the record.

Anyway… Give it a shot, let me know what you think. Let me know what other albums you want to hear (though I’ve got about 10 records lined up, from Sam Cooke to The Decemberists), but most importantly, enjoy our new feature!

TSURURADIO Presents… Loney, Dear – Loney, Noir on Vinyl Rip!
(Full Zip — Link Removed by Request of Sub Pop)

01 Sinister In A State Of Hope
02 I Am John
03 Saturday Waits

(mp3’s for 04 – 10 removed by request of Sub Pop)

04 Hard Days 1. 2. 3. 4.
05 I Am The Odd One
06 No One Can Win
07 I Will Call You Lover Again
08 Carrying A Stone
09 The Meter Marks OK
10 And I Won’t Cause Anything At All

Go show them some love here, here and here now… and if you can, pick up the record, because, there’s nothing really like vinyl.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *